Cameras for PIV

LaVision’s Imager camera family offers the widest range of PIV models in the market. No matter if highest priority is on spatial resolution, frame rate, sensitivity, inter-frame time or price there is always a best solution in our portfolio of state-of-the-art PIV cameras for your application.

no-img
The MiniShaker is a camera family of different models of a 3D camera with four sensors aligned in a solid housing. MiniShaker TR is the standard model for liquid flow measurements and low-speed gas flows, whereas MiniShaker 2M is designed for mid-speed gas flows. Both models are available for use in applications with very small optical access or with a larger stereo base resulting in higher accuracy for the out-of-plane velocity component. The MiniShaker comes with frame rates of up to 121 Hz at full resolution (1984 x 1264 px) and up to 1 kHz at a reduced resolution of 704 x 358 px. The MiniShaker Aero with its aerodynamically optimized housing can be equipped with coaxial laser fiber illumination. This allows measurements even in regions with limited optical access. The very compact design of the MiniShaker Underwater is designed for measurements in towing tanks or other applications in water.
no-img

Imager sCMOS camera contains a new generation of scientific CMOS (sCMOS) sensor and combines the advantages of modern CCD and CMOS sensor technologies resulting in an unsurpassed image quality and system performance. The high resolution 5.5 million pixel Imager sCMOS camera with extremely low readout noise and high frame rates of 50 Hz at full resolution offers excellent PIV performance for flow field imaging. The modern CameraLink HS interface enables high and safe data throughput over long distances.

no-img

Imager SX cameras are price-efficient high resolution and low noise digital cameras. The cameras are available with 4, 6 and 9 million pixel spatial resolution and frame rates up to 30 Hz, 25 Hz and 18 Hz, respectively.
All models can be operated at full spatial resolution or in reduced resolution modes so that higher framerates can be achieved when required.

no-img

Imager MX cameras are compact high sensitive CMOS cameras with up to 50 million pixel resolution and frame rates up to 180 frames/s at full spatial resolution covering the mid-speed range ideal for applications in water or other fluids.

 

The Photron, Imager HS 4M and Phantom CMOS sensors yield frame rates up to several kHz at highest spatial resolution. Like all other cameras LaVision’s high speed cameras are fully integrated in our DaVis software and are ready for use in time resolved PIV applications with double frame exposure and interframe times in the µs range.

no-img
no-img
no-img

Overview

PIV cameras PIV cameras
 

PIV camera

resolution
[pixel]

frame rate

pixel size
[µm]

min. time interval
(dt)

digital output

Imager sCMOS 2.6k x 2.2k 50 Hz 6.5 x 6.5 120 ns 16 bit
Imager SX 4M 2360 x 1776 31 Hz 5.5 x 5.5 250 ns 12 bit
Imager SX 6M 2752 x 2200 25 Hz 4.54 x 4.54 150 ns 8, 12 bit
Imager SX 9M 3360 x 2712 18 Hz 3.69 x 3.69 150 ns 8, 12 bit
Imager MX 2M 1936 x 1216 100 Hz 5.86 x 5.86 60.3 µs 8, 12 bit
Imager MX 4M 2048 x 2048 180 Hz 5.5 x 5.5 44 µs 8, 10, 12 bit
Imager MX 5M 2464 x 2056 50 Hz 3.45 x 3.45 76 µs 8, 12 bit
Imager MX 25M 5120 x 5120 84 Hz 4.5 x 4.5 23 µs 8, 10 bit
Imager MX 50M 7920 x 6004 30 Hz 4.6 x 4.6 180 µs 8, 10, 12 bit
High-speed PIV cameras High-speed PIV cameras
 

PIV camera

resolution
[pixel]

pixel size
[µm]

min. time interval
(dt)

digital output

Imager HS 4M 2016x2016
up to 1.3 kHz 
11 x 11 3.15 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM Mini UX100 1280 x 1024
up to 4 kHz
10 x 10  1.5 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM Mini AX100 1024 x 1024
up to 4 kHz
20 x 20  2.5 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM Mini AX200 1024 x 1024
up to 6.4 kHz
20 x 20 2.5 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM SA-X2 1024x1024
up to 12.5 kHz
20 x 20 3 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM NOVA S6 1024 x 1024
up to 6.4 kHz
20 x 20  2.1 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM NOVA S9 1024 x 1024
up to 9 kHz
20 x 20  2.1 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM NOVA S12 1024 x 1024
up to 12.8 kHz
20 x 20 2.1 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO 410L 1280 x 800
up to 5.2 kHz
20 x 20 0.5 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO 710L 1280 x 800
up to 7.4 kHz
20 x 20 0.4 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO 440L 2560 x 1600
up to 1.1 kHz
10 x 10 1.73 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO 640L 2560 x 1600
up to 1.4 kHz
10 x 10 1.73 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO4k 590L 4096 x 2304
up to 540 Hz
6.75 x 6.75 0.6 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO4k 990L 4096 x 2304
up to 938 Hz
6.75 x 6.75 0.6 µs 12 bit
Phantom v1212 1280 x 800
up to 12.6 kHz
28 x 28 0.55 µs 12 bit
Phantom v1612 1280 x 800
up to 16.6 kHz
28 x 28 0.425 µs 12 bit
Phantom v2012 1280 x 800
up to 22.5 kHz
28 x 28 0.4 µs 12 bit
Phantom v2512 1280 x 800
up to 25.6 kHz
28 x 28 0.375 µs 12 bit
Phantom v1840 2048 x 1952
up to 4.5 kHz
13.5 x 13.5 0.696 µs 12 bit
Phantom v2640 2048 x 1952
up to 6.6 kHz
13.5 x 13.5 0.696 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO-E-310L 1280 x 800
up to 3,2 kHz
20 x 20 0.48 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO-E-340L 2560 x 1600
up to 800 Hz
10 x 10 1.71 µs 12 bit

Kameras für PIV

LaVision’s Imager Kamerafamilie bietet die größte Vielfalt an PIV Kameras im Markt. Unabhängig davon ob räumliche Auflösung, Bildrate, Sensitivität, Interframe Zeit oder der Preis oberste Priorität hat, werden wir immer eine maßgeschneiderte Kamera für Ihre Anwendung finden.

no-img
Die MiniShaker Kamerafamilie umfasst verschiedene Modelle einer 3D-Kamera, die jeweils vier Sensoren in einem soliden Gehäuse vereint. Der MiniShaker TR ist das Standardmodell für Strömungsmessungen in Flüssigkeiten sowie für Gase mit geringeren Strömungsgeschwindigkeiten, der MiniShaker 2M ist geeignet für schnellere Gasströmungen. Beide Modelle sind verfügbar als Version für den Einsatz bei sehr kleinem optischem Zugang, oder mit einer größeren Stereo-Basis zur Erhöhung der Genauigkeit der out-of-plane-Geschwindigkeitskomponente. Mit dem MiniShaker sind Bildraten von bis zu 121 Hz bei voller Auflösung (1984 x 1264 px) und bis zu 1 kHz bei einer reduzierten Auflösung von 704 x 358 px möglich. Der MiniShaker Aero mit seinem aerodynamisch optimierten Gehäuse kann mit einer koaxialen Laserfaserbeleuchtung ausgestattet werden. Das kompakte Design des MiniShaker Underwater ist bestens geeignet für Anwendungen in Schleppkanälen und anderen Applikationen in Wasser.

 

no-img

Die Imager sCMOS Kamera verfügt über einen neuartigen sCMOS Sensor, der die Vorteile von CCD und CMOS Sensoren vereinigt. Das Resultat ist eine unübertroffene Bildqualität bei hervorragender Systemeigenschaften. Mit einer Auflösung von 5.5 Mega-Pixeln und äußerst geringem Ausleserauschen ist die Imager sCMOS Kamera ideal geeignet für den anspruchsvollen Einsatz in quantitativen Laser Imaging Anwendungen. Mit der modernen CameraLink HS Schnittstelle können die aufgenommenen Daten sicher auch über große Distanzen übertragen werden.

no-img

Die Imager SX Kameras von LaVision sind kompakte, kostengünstige CCD Kameras mit hoher Auflösung und geringem Rauschen. Die Kameras sind mit 4, 6 und 9 Millionen Pixeln verfügbar und erreichen bei voller Auflösung eine Bildrate von 30 Hz, 25 Hz bzw. 18 Hz. Bei reduzierter Auflösung können bei Bedarf deutlich höhere Bildraten erzielt werden.

no-img

Die Imager MX Kameras sind kompakte hochempfindliche CMOS Kameras mit bis zu 50 Millionen Pixel Auflösung und Bildraten bis zu 180 Hz bei voller Auflösung. Die Kameras sind damit ideal geeignet für Wasseranwendungen mit mittleren Geschwindigkeitsbereichen.

 

Photron, Imager HS 4M and Phantom Kameras mit CMOS Sensoren liefern Bildraten größer als 20 kHz bei höchster räumlicher Auflösung. Wie alle Kameras von LaVision sind auch die Hochgeschwindigkeitskameras vollständig in die DaVis Software integriert und können direkt für zeitaufgelöste PIV Anwendungen mit Interframe Zeiten im µs Bereich eingesetzt werden.

no-img
no-img
no-img

Übersicht

PIV Kameras PIV Kameras
 

PIV camera

resolution
[pixel]

frame rate

pixel size
[µm]

min. time interval
(dt)

digital output

Imager sCMOS 2.6k x 2.2k 50 Hz 6.5 x 6.5 120 ns 16 bit
Imager SX 4M 2360 x 1776 31 Hz 5.5 x 5.5 250 ns 12 bit
Imager SX 6M 2752 x 2200 25 Hz 4.54 x 4.54 150 ns 8, 12 bit
Imager SX 9M 3360 x 2712 18 Hz 3.69 x 3.69 150 ns 8, 12 bit
Imager MX 2M 1936 x 1216 100 Hz 5.86 x 5.86 60.3 µs 8, 12 bit
Imager MX 4M 2048 x 2048 180 Hz 5.5 x 5.5 44 µs 8, 10, 12 bit
Imager MX 5M 2464 x 2056 50 Hz 3.45 x 3.45 76 µs 8, 12 bit
Imager MX 25M 5120 x 5120 84 Hz 4.5 x 4.5 23 µs 8, 10 bit
Imager MX 50M 7920 x 6004 30 Hz 4.6 x 4.6 180 µs 8, 10, 12 bit
High-speed PIV Kameras High-speed PIV Kameras
 

PIV camera

resolution
[pixel]

pixel size
[µm]

min. time interval
(dt)

digital output

Imager HS 4M 2016x2016
up to 1.3 kHz 
11 x 11 3.15 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM Mini UX100 1280 x 1024
up to 4 kHz
10 x 10  1.5 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM Mini AX100 1024 x 1024
up to 4 kHz
20 x 20  2.5 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM Mini AX200 1024 x 1024
up to 6.4 kHz
20 x 20 2.5 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM SA-X2 1024x1024
up to 12.5 kHz
20 x 20 3 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM NOVA S6 1024 x 1024
up to 6.4 kHz
20 x 20  2.1 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM NOVA S9 1024 x 1024
up to 9 kHz
20 x 20  2.1 µs 12 bit
FASTCAM NOVA S12 1024 x 1024
up to 12.8 kHz
20 x 20 2.1 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO 410L 1280 x 800
up to 5.2 kHz
20 x 20 0.5 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO 710L 1280 x 800
up to 7.4 kHz
20 x 20 0.4 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO 440L 2560 x 1600
up to 1.1 kHz
10 x 10 1.73 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO 640L 2560 x 1600
up to 1.4 kHz
10 x 10 1.73 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO4k 590L 4096 x 2304
up to 540 Hz
6.75 x 6.75 0.6 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO4k 990L 4096 x 2304
up to 938 Hz
6.75 x 6.75 0.6 µs 12 bit
Phantom v1212 1280 x 800
up to 12.6 kHz
28 x 28 0.55 µs 12 bit
Phantom v1612 1280 x 800
up to 16.6 kHz
28 x 28 0.425 µs 12 bit
Phantom v2012 1280 x 800
up to 22.5 kHz
28 x 28 0.4 µs 12 bit
Phantom v2512 1280 x 800
up to 25.6 kHz
28 x 28 0.375 µs 12 bit
Phantom v1840 2048 x 1952
up to 4.5 kHz
13.5 x 13.5 0.696 µs 12 bit
Phantom v2640 2048 x 1952
up to 6.6 kHz
13.5 x 13.5 0.696 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO-E-310L 1280 x 800
up to 3,2 kHz
20 x 20 0.48 µs 12 bit
Phantom VEO-E-340L 2560 x 1600
up to 800 Hz
10 x 10 1.71 µs 12 bit