no-img

Laser Imaging in Engines

LaVision’s EngineMaster laser imaging systems provide information on fuel injection, mixture preparation, pre-combustion, flame species, NO formation and soot production. In-cylinder flow fields are measured with our FlowMaster PIV systems. Crank angle resolved in-cylinder laser imaging is performed on pulsed laser light sheets in optical engines or applying keyhole imaging using minimal invasive endoscopes.

Laser imaging investigating all stages of internal combustion engines
no-img
no-img
Laser light sheet imaging in engines

EngineMaster Multifunctional
Laser Imaging System

LaVision’s EngineMaster Multifunctional system supports fuel injection and evaporation studies, mixture formation (%lambda%-maps) and end gas temperature measurements, imaging of knock centers and soot formation processes.
For all laser imaging applications a pulsed multi-wavelength Nd:YAG laser is the standard light source. Upgraded with a T-YAG module (intra-cavity etalon) the laser also allows OH-LIF imaging. Only by changing the emission filter in front of the camera the desired in-cylinder process can be investigated. The crank angle resolved measurements are synchronized with the encoder signal of the engine supporting all engine operation modes such as cold start, skip-fired and acceleration modes.

In-cylinder laser imaging applications measured with the EngineMaster multifunctional system
no-img
Direct fuel spray injection:
liquid-vapor seaparation
no-img
Air/fuel ratio (%lambda%) maps
gas temperature, EGR recirculation
no-img
Highly sensitive soot imaging
with detection limits in the ppb-range
no-img

In-Cylinder LIF Imaging of Flame Species

For the detection of all LIF-active diatomic flame species such as OH, NO, CH, CN a dye laser is added to the multi-functional EngineMaster system. Flame front visualization (OH-LIF), pollutant formation (NO-LIF) as well as the location of knock centers (HCHO-LIF) are the main targets for these tunable LIF imaging techniques.

no-img
Tumble flow field near inlet valve
Image courtesy: University of Duisburg

In-Cylinder Flow Visualization: Charge Motion

For the analysis of in-cylinder charge motion LaVision’s FlowMaster PIV systems are well established in the automotive industry.

Predefined crank angle resolved flow fields with cycle statistics as well as high-speed PIV movies of the in-cylinder charge motion during mixture formation are recorded applying state-of-the-art PIV strategies incl. dynamic double-frame (dt) sampling.

no-img
In-cylinder volumetric (3D3C) flow field
Image courtesy: TU-Darmstadt
Advanced flow field analysis in engine development

Engine Synchronization: Crank Angle based Imaging                       

no-img
 

LaVision’s PTU X timing unit is the universal synchronization interface between the laser imaging system and the engine supporting all engine operation modes including engine start, skip-fired and acceleration modes.

From Optical Engines to Endoscopic Imaging                                   

no-img
 

While optical engines offer unlimited optical access for laser imaging applications, endoscopic keyhole imaging can be realized in slightly modified production engines featuring two small optical ports one for the laser endoscope and one for the camera endoscope.

Product Information

Related Products

no-img

Laser Imaging in Motoren

LaVisions EngineMaster Laser Imaging Systeme werden eingesetzt zur Untersuchung der Kraftstoffeinspritzung und Gemischbildung, der Vorentflammung (Klopfen) und Verbrennung sowie der Schadstoffentstehung inklusive der Partikelbildung. Innerzylindrische Strömungsfelder werden mit unseren FlowMaster PIV/PTV System durchgeführt. Die kurbelwinkelaufgelösten Laserlichtschnitt Messungen werden in Transparentmotoren oder seriennahen Motoren mit endoskopischen Zugang durchgeführt.

Laser Imaging für alle Phasen der innermotorischen Verbrennung
no-img
no-img
Laser light sheet imaging in engines

EngineMaster Multifunctional
Laser Imaging System

Mit dem EngineMaster Multifunctional Laser Imaging System werden Einspritz- und Verdampfungsprozesse analysiert, %lambda%-Karten und Ladungstemperatur während der Gemischbildung gemessen sowie Klopfvorgänge und die Rußbildung auf Lichtschnitten dargestellt.
Für all diese Laser Imaging Anwendungen ist ein gepluster Nd:YAG Laser im Multi-Wellenlängenbetrieb die universelle Lichtquelle. Aufgerüstet mit dem T-YAG Modul unterstützt dieser Laser auch OH-LIF Messungen. Nur durch Wechsel des Kamerafilters und der Laserwellenlänge wird auf eine andere Laser-Messtechnik umgeschaltet. Die kurbelwinkelbasierten Messungen werden über das Encoder Signal gesteuert und unterstützen alle Betriebszustände wie z. B. Kaltstart und dynamische Lastwechsel.

Innermotorische Anwendungen aufgenommen mit dem EngineMaster Multifunctional Messsystem
no-img
Direkteinspritzung:
Flüssig- und Dampfphase
no-img
Luft/Kraftstoff (%lambda%) Karten
Ladungstemperatur, Abgaseintrag (AGR)
no-img
Empfindlicher Rußnachweis
Detektionsgrenze im ppb-Bereich
no-img

LIF Imaging von Flammenspezies

Zur Detektion aller LIF-aktiven Flammenspezies wie z. B. OH, NO, CH, CN wird der Nd:Yag Laser mit einem Farbstofflaser aufgerüstet. Die Visualisierung der Flammenfront (OH-LIF), der NOx Bildung  (NO-LIF) als auch die Lokalisierung der Klopfzentren (HCHO-LIF) sind die dabei wichtigsten Anwendungsfelder für diese abstimmbare LIF Technik.

no-img
Strömungsfeld am Einlassventil
Image courtesy: University of Duisburg

Innerzylindrische Strömungsfelder: Ladungsbewegung

Die LaVisions FlowMaster Messsysteme sind bewährte Entwicklungswerkzeuge zur Analyse der Ladungsbewegung im Zylinder.

Strömungsfelder an ausgewählten Kurbelwinkelpositionen mit statistischen Auswertungen über viele Motorzyklen, als auch Hochgeschwindigkeits-PIV Aufnahmen während der Gemischbildung mit dynamischer PIV Parametereinstellung (variables PIV-dt) – auch unter endoskopischen Aufnahmebedingungen – sind unerlässliche Kenngrößen für die Entwicklung neuer Brennverfahren.

no-img
3D Strömungsfeld im Brennraum
Image courtesy: TU-Darmstadt
Fortschrittliche Strömungsfeldanalyse im Ansaugtrakt

Motor Synchronization: Kurbelwinkelsynchrones Imaging                

no-img
 

LaVisions PTU X Steuereinheit ist die universelle Synchronisations-Schnittstelle zwischen Motorsteuerung und (Laser) Imaging System, das alle Betriebspunkte wie z. B. Kaltstart oder Lastsprünge optimal unterstützt.

Vom Transparentmotor bis zum Serienmotor                                    

no-img
 

Während Transparentmotoren mit Glaszylindern einen optimalen optischen Zugang gewährleisten, können mit Endoskopen (Laser) Imaging Messungen auch in nur leicht modifizierten Serienmotoren durchgeführt werden.

Verwandte Produkte